Sassoferrato mill


Into a charming and suggestive scenery in the heart of a rural territory, close to a waterfall and to the confluence of Marena and Sanguerone creeks with the Sentino river, there rises Mulino del Capo (“The Cape Mill”) also known as the Sassoferrato Mill, due to its position on a river bank, opposite to the homonymous town. News about the age of the mill is unclear: there are documents certifying its presence since the beginning of the XI century, but other sources state it began operating in 1450. Details concerning the evolution of the structure over the centuries are not available; in the XVI century the mill appears to have belonged to Francesco Tati, a member of a noble local family, and to have been later surrendered to the city council, which sold it and used the money to build the San Antonio hospital. The mill also served monks from the nearby “Santa Croce”Abbey and “Santa Maria del Ponte del Piano”Monastery. At the beginning of the new millennium, a still underway restoration, aimed at rebuilding the mill according to its ancient destination, was started by Mr. Gilberto Blasi. Thanks to Mr. Blasi’s work, the Sassoferrato Mill recovered also its energetic efficiency, since it is now equipped with two hydroelectric turbines capable of producing more than 300 kilowatts and to supply electricity to the surrounding area. Water is another of the elements characterizing the structure: the mill stood damages when the river and the nearby canals overflew, most of all in 2014, when a flood endangered the whole building. Mr. Blasi also restored a nearby lime furnace where cement was produced: in ancient times, wood and coal were burned into such furnaces to pulverize stone and get a mixture used to make cement. The mill is currently open to the public for booked visits.


The Attractions of Sassoferrato

 Attraction location

Itineraries to visit Sassoferrato