The sanctuary is not far from the town centre of Ostra. It was built in 1754 on the site of an aedicule where the image of the Vergin called Madonna of the Rose by the faithful because of the flower that she holds in her hand.
People say that in May 166 a young devout girl laid a flower before the image. Surprisingly it remained fresh for many months, so crowds of pilgrims went to this site. Due to their large number the aedicule was widened until it became the modern sumptuous church in Neoclassical style with a Baroque undertone.
The façade with simple lines and the elegant and robust belfry were built at the end of the 19th century. Inside there are many votive tablets and Turkish flags of the year 1717.
The fame of the miracles performed by the Vergin Mary reached the Pope who granted the honor of the solemn coronation to the miraculous image and the title of sanctuary to the Chapel.
OPENING TIME: Open from 7 to 12 and from 3 p.m. to the prayer to Mary. Mass celebrations on holidays at 8 - 9.30 - 17; on non-working days at 7.30 a.m.
Ostra - "La Vittoria" Theatre, Ostra - Shrine of “Santa Maria Apparve”, Ostra- Church of St. Gregorius or Sanctuary of the Very Holy Crucifix
Flavors and Craft:
Ostra - The antiques and the restoration
The symbolic places of Christianity
Spirituality and Meditation
The hospitality is here
Rolling Hills and Ancient Villages
Discover the secrets of skilled craftsmen
Skills and expertise
Precious treasure chests where the show goes on stage
Art and Culture Rolling Hills and Ancient Villages