After a recent restoration aimed at showing the ancient wheat grinding techniques, Ponte Vecchio Mill is nowadays used both to produce flour and to serve as a museum of farming traditions, a place where visitors can see the ancient equipment, the instruments, and the tools used in past times to perform agricultural and artisan activities. Even though its presence is recorded since 1658 only, when cardinal legate Omodei ordered its construction (or restoration), Ponte Vecchio Mill, also known as “del ponte”or “della Comunità”(“Bridge”, or “Community”mill) appears to boast much more ancient origins remounting even to 1200, the same year when the foundation was laid of the castle which the mill supplied with flour and bread. Other documents state it existed in 1430, as they mention an underground passage connecting it and Palazzo Vandini. Powered by the water of the Mutino creek, Ponte Vecchio Mill has been very important for centuries, as many people came there from the surrounding areas to have their wheat ground. Equipped with two millstones used to grind fodder and wheat, as well as with a clothmaking full, it consists of three wide stone buildings with many halls, a water reservoir and a tower which in the past was used to catch sight of enemies, and consequently for its defense. Two electrically powered milling devices, equipped with ancient millstones, are operational; a working water mill is also there for didactic purposes. A rich collection of photographs, books and archive documents concerning watermills is on show in the structure. Shows of films and slides are also available for the benefit of school and tourist groups. In the widest hall, furthermore, local gastronomic products are on show, available for tasting and sale.