The exact year of the foundation of the monastery of St. Esperandia in Cingoli is unknown. It was named after a saint called Sperandia ( 1216- 1276) who was born in Gubbio and who was sanctified in the monastery which was named after her. She’s venerated as co-patroness of the town.
It got its shape over the centuries, starting from a former Benedictine monastery which already existed under its site and which was named after St. Michael the Archangel (according to some it dates back to the year 1030- 1050). Probably it was the Saint herself who gave an impulse to its foundation. After having led a life of pilgrimages and penitence she decided to retire there, as abbess, giving birth to a flourishing religious community composed of nuns coming from St. Michael and others coming from the nearby monastery of St. Mark outside the Mentana Gate.
The nice monument dates back to mid- 18th century. The latest renovation works were carried out on occasion of the 7th anniversary of the death of St Sperandia (whose body is preserved incorrupt in the Shrine) and led to the opening of a chamber of the saint which has turned into a holy oratory.
The sanctuary of St. Sperandia, visited by many pilgrims, gives the nuns the chance to carry out an important work of religious animation.
The cosy and bright renovated building welcomes young women seeking their vocation for their withdrawal and experience. A guest- house is being refurbished for large groups. People can nevertheless spend some hours with the nuns for an exchange of experiences, such as schoolchildren, young people preparing for confirmation, etc.
Every last Sunday of August a pilgrimage on foot is organized to the Caves of St. Sperandia, a cavity cut into the rocks at the sides of the Acuto Mount, which is about 10 km from Cingoli where there is a chapel dedicated to the Saint.