Cagli - The Fortress


The Cagli Fortress was built by Francesco di Giorgio in 1481 at the behest of Federico II of Urbino and destroyed in 1502 by his son Guidobaldo so that the Duke of Valentinois Cesare Borgia, could not take possession of the fortress. Originally, it has a diamond shape with circular towers along the perimeter and a high keep; nowadays the Fortress has an elliptic shape with tower, trapdoors. In the past, the fortress was located on the Cappuccini Hill in order to protect the town, also thanks to an underground tunnel “Soccorso coverto”, recently restored whick linked the buildings. The Keep is the only building still intact and it is the seat of the contemporary sculpture Centre by Eliseo Mattiacci.


The Attractions of Cagli

 Attraction location

Itineraries to visit Cagli

Discover the itinerary Archaeological Marche

Archaeological Marche

A journey into the past

Art and Culture   5 days

Discover the itinerary The organic production chain

The organic production chain

A list of companies and cooperatives working according to high quality standards

Skills and expertise   Taste and tradition   6 days

Discover the itinerary The region of theatres

The region of theatres

Precious treasure chests where the show goes on stage

Art and Culture   Rolling Hills and Ancient Villages   6 days