Montemaggiore al Metauro is a fortified town with picturesque pointed bell towers which stands guard over the entire lower Metauro Valley from a prominent wooded hill.
The town, which dates back to the late Medieval period, originally belonged to the Benedictine monks of San Paterniano in Fano. Montemaggiore was used by the Malatesta Family as one of the main bastions to defend the coastal area from the inland Montefeltro territory, until Federico da Montefeltro captured it in 1462. The town then became part of the Duchy of Urbino, following its fortunes until it passed to the Church in 1631. In 1944 it was the scene of armed conflict between the German troops, on their retreat towards the "Gothic Line", and the allies.
The 18th century Palazzo Comunale (town hall) in the town's piazza once belonged to the Marfori family. From here, a stairway reaches the fortified centre of the town, passing under an elegant tower which has been entirely rebuilt to its original design after its wartime destruction. The parish church of Santa Maria del Soccorso, at the top of the stairway, dates back to the 15th Century but has been modified various times. Inside there is a picture of "The Last Supper" by the school of the Urbino painter Barocci. Here, from between the battlements of the town wall, we can enjoy the nice view over the Metauro Valley and the coastal plain.
Montemaggiore is now well known for its nurseries growing chrysanthemums, for its wine production (the well known "Bianchello del Metauro") and for its "Valmetauro" cheese