It's a pretty hill town, just north of Macerata; it belongs to the association of “The most beautiful villages in Italy” and boasts “the Orange Flag”,and the Green Spike label, thanks to a goog recycling activities and great attention given to, educational activities on environmental issues.It is surrounded by medieval walls and has a particularly attractive small piazza; overlooking it, the solid 15th century Palazzo Comunale, built over a shady portico, has three beautiful bottle-glazed windows. Steps lead through an archway to one side, up to the parish church, topped by a stubby spire. Inside the sober Gothic brick interior, there is refreshingly un-restored terracotta altarpiece by Mattia Della Robbia (1527), a lesser-known member of the famous Florentine artistic family.The Compagnucci Palace houses the town picture gallery where works by Girolamo Buratti, an important canvas “Madonna enthroned with Child between Saints Andrew and Helen and musician angels” by the Spanish painter Ioannes Hispanus and the painting representing St. John the Baptist in prison by an unknown painter are preserved. In the Romanesque church of St. Nicolò there’s the oldest bell of the Marche as well as frescoes dating back to the 16th century The church of Saints Philip and James houses a canvas attributed to Pagani; the wooden altar of the church of Santa Croce is unique. The Church of St. John the Baptist houses the museum of sacred art and furnishings; the 19th century Theatre Delle Logge is embellished by painting decorations and stuccowork. The Collegiate church of St. Lorenzo was largely renovated in 1723; it houses a large crucifix with a triumphant Christ . Worth visiting are the recently restored historic courtyards: the Augustinian cloister, the Garden of San Giacomo and the courtyard of the Monastery of the Poor Clares. The most typical specialty is "sughitti", a kind of pudding made with must, sweet corn flour and walnuts.The most important events are: the historical re-enactment "Palio dei Terzieri" (in July) and the festival of "Sughitti" (in October).
Montecassiano - Church of Saint Mary of the Assumption
Flavors and Craft:
Montecassiano - Palio of the Terzieri
The church was built in the second half of the 15th-century, when a previous church dating back to 1136 was changed in gothic style following the design of...
The testimony of the presence of S. Francesco comes, according to tradition, from an old oak door in the facade of the church where the saint entered. Then on...
The Giovanni Vannucci centre for Biblical studies in Montefano was founded in 1995 by two friars belonging to the Order of “Servants of Mary”,...
The Leopardi library-museum is located on the first floor of Leopardi Palace, which was built by the family, where still live there. It was renovated by the...
The Santuario della Misericordia was constructed on a votive shrine in the 15th century. The changes were so controversial that Guarniero...
In the heart of the city there is the XVIII century Palace built by the Buonaccorsi family, nowadays a property of the municipality, which hosts some art...
Rolling Hills and Ancient Villages
The hospitality is here
Art and characteristic villages a stone's throw from the coast
The Marche Region in Blue Art and Culture Spirituality and Meditation Rolling Hills and Ancient Villages
The Della Robbia family at Arcevia and in the Marche
Art and Culture