Marche in montagna

Mountains province Pesaro and Urbino

Monte Carpegna (1,415 m.) is part of the Tuscan-Romagnolo Apennines and is divided between the province of Pesaro and Urbino, that of Rimini and the province of Arezzo, north-west of Monte Nerone: the border passes between the two peaks between the Tuscan-Romagna Apennines and the Umbrian-Marche Apennines. The Monte Carpegna massif includes the peaks of San Leo, San Marino, Villagrande, Monte Canale, Sasso Simone and Simoncello. The mountain is included in the territory of the Interregional natural park of Sasso Simone and Simoncello. On the summit there's the Hermitage of Monte Carpegna, in the municipality of Montecopiolo, a place of worship, due to an historic sanctuary; it is also a destination for winter sports, thanks to the ski facilities (skiing and snowboarding), and a summer resort with numerous paths for trekking.
Monte Catria (1,701 m.) is part of the Umbrian-Marchigiano Apennines and is located on the border between Umbria and Marche. It is located just south of Monte Nerone, while to the north-west is the Serra di Vurano group and Monte San Vicino to the south. The Monte Catria group includes other minor peaks such as Monte Acuto, the Balze degli Spicchi, Corno di Catria, Monte Tenetra, Monte Alto and Monte Morcia. The rivers Cesano, Artino and Cinisco originate from the Catria. In the territory of Frontone there is a famous ski resort, a ring for the practice of cross-country skiing and a snow park. The Catria massif is perfect for trekking with a large number of paths with different level of difficulty; you can enjoy wonderful excursions, go  mountain biking ; it is also an important centre of equestrian tourism and horse therapy.
Monte Paganuccio (976 m.) and Monte Pietralata (888 m.) delimit the Gola del Furlo crossed by the Candigliano River and are included in the homonymous Nature Reserve. The Furlo gorge is historically very important as a crossing point from the Apennine hinterland towards the Adriatic Sea: from here passed the ancient Via Flaminia that led from Rome to Fano, many Roman site are still visible, such as the ruins of a bridge and, above all, the gallery built by the Emperor Vespasian between 76-77 AD.
Monte Nerone (1,525 m.) is part of the Umbrian-Marchigiana Apennine chain, included in the municipalities of Apecchio, Cagli and Piobbico. It boasts a ski area, hiking and mountain biking trails. Speleology is practiced in numerous caves. Hang gliding, climbing and canyoning complete the offer of sporting activities that can be practiced in the area.
Monte Montiego (975 m.) is a relief that is part of the Umbrian-Marche Apennines; its territory is included in the municipalities of Acqualagna, Piobbico, Urbania, in the province of Pesaro and Urbino.
Monte Petrano (1162 m.) is part of the Umbrian-Marche Apennines and is located in the territory of the municipality of Cagli. Thanks to the strong winds that often blow in the area, the meadows near the peak are perfect for the practice of activities, such as kite buggying and land boarding which involve the use of traction kites.
The Simoncello is a chain of the Apennines, between Emilia-Romagna (municipality of Pennabilli, in the province of Rimini), Tuscany (municipality of Sestino, in the province of Arezzo) and Marche (municipality of Carpegna, in the province of Pesaro and Urbino). The top of the mountain falls entirely within the province of Pesaro and Urbino; the area is entirely included in the Interregional natural park of Sasso Simone and Simoncello.